Internship PC Repair Shop

Sylice_Sylice_ Member Posts: 3 ■■□□□□□□□□
edited November 2019 in IT Jobs / Degrees
Hi, I was wondering if interning at a PC repair shop is a good path to take into getting my foot in the door. This repair shop also installs and maintains the networks and computers of hospitals.

I plan to move on to either security or cloud computing. I am currently studying Information Technology at my local community college. And I also plan on getting the CompTIA A+ certification as soon as possible.

Comments

• bigdogzbigdogz Member Posts: 881 ■■■■■■■■□□
    edited November 2019
    Yes. That is a great start. Take care of your customers. That will take you far.
    I had a potential customer ask me questions for over 8 months. He bought a PC and told me he had a virus and was wondering if I could fix it for free since we were an authorized service center. I calmly told him, 'It is not a warranty issue and if you had purchased the computer from us I would have done it free of charge.'

You will also learn a great deal about other hardware and their warranty policies. 

• tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It's a good idea, though if you're thinking of opening an actual brick-and-mortar business, don't expect to be profitable for a long time. If you just operate out of your home, you'll save a fortune in overhead costs. 
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited November 2019