What Laptop Do You Use?

baghdaddy19baghdaddy19 Member Posts: 51 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just wanted to get a general idea of what pcs or laptops you guys use for your work?
Would especially love to hear from indie software devs, indie game devs, self taught coders, info sec guys, etc.
I expect to see a lot of ThinkPads in the comments, but lets see :smile:
2020 Certification Goals
CompTIA: A+, Net+, Sec+, Cloud Essentials, and Project +
LPI: Linux Essentials
AXELOS: ITIL v3
SANS GAIC: GSEC, GCIH, and GCED

Comments

• bigdogzbigdogz Member Posts: 881 ■■■■■■■■□□
    edited November 2019
    I have a Dell Precision M6800: Intel Core i7, 17" touchscreen, 32 GB RAM
    I use it for general networking, Pen testing and forensics.
    1  Dell Precision M6800: Intel Core i7, 17" touchscreen, 1 TB SD hard drive, 32 GB RAM for Networking (CNS, VIRL, ... etc)   
    2 of Dell Latitudes with 16 GB RAM for sniffing / packet tracing on physical networks.
    6 Raspberry Pi's for running Kali

• yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    edited November 2019
    XPS13 because it came with Linux from the factory instead of being stuck with Windows 10. I'll likely upgrade to a ThinkPad because the Dell is very un-upgradable. The RAM is soldered to the MOBO, and it courageously needs an adapter to do anything.
    Cloud instances sometimes in AWS, but I'm cheap and usually don't want to deal with expense sheets. Raspberry Pis are surprisingly convenient for some tasks too.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    My main computer is an HP Elitebook 850G4 with 16 GB and 1 TB NVME and 1 TB SSD running Windows and some VM.  I have an additional laptop, an HP Elitebook 840 G6, 16 GB, 1 TB NVME, with Kali Linux installed.  1 RPi3 and 1 RPi4 with Kali for tests and pen-test.