It's official, I am going for SEC560 in New Orleans

SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
One of my personal dream is to go to training at a SANS event... I am happy that it will happen in 59 days.. in New Orleans. I will attend the SEC560 Network penetration testing class, the GPEN certication. 

I am a long time IT Pro with many certification (CISSP being one of them). Any recommandation on reading material before I attend ?

Comments

• MrsWilliamsMrsWilliams Member Posts: 192 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congratulations on your acceptance. 

@johndoee wrote about his experience and recommendations with regards to his New Orleans event. It might be useful to type in New Orleans and read what he wrote. 

I am not sure I've ever heard of anyone reading material prior to attending an event. With that in mind, it's not necessary. 

You'll be given X amount of books and like 90 days or so after the event to take the exam. Yes, you can get an extension.

A small percentage of people and I mean small percentage of people, take the exam the day after class ends. I've personally met one person who has been successful at doing such a thing. That really is based on creating your index during class and having some experience in the topics covered. 

To answer your question, most people don't do any pre-class studying. It is not needed whatsoever. 

Enjoy the city and the class.

Considering it was your d.r.e.a.m of attending an event, I am going to go out on a limb and say this is your first event.