Options

Breaking into InfoSec

4chib4ld4chib4ld Member Posts: 25 ■■□□□□□□□□
Good Morning,

As somebody who recently passed the Sec+, I've been extremely interested in getting my foot into InfoSec. Work is having us do a proprietary certification, but as soon as it is complete... I'll be back on the security route.

I found what I believe to be a great article that i think can help others who are trying to make their way into InfoSec.

Apologies if this has already been posted. Hope it helps some other aspiring security fiends!

Source: https://s3ctur.wordpress.com/2017/06/19/breaking-into-infosec-a-beginners-curriculum/

While perusing /r/netsecstudents, it seems that every other day there is a thread asking for advice on how to break into the InfoSec world, and where to start studying.As helpful as the responses are, they tend to vary widely and are dependent on who can be bothered replying with the same answer each and every time.
Currently, I’m a Senior Security Consultant for a small spear head team in a global corporation. We perform red teaming, phishing training, pentests, breach assessments, and baseline security assessments. I come from a healthcare IT and applications background, and teach people how to go fast on motorbikes on the side.
As such, I thought I’d post up a rough guide for beginning your adventures should you be a newbie looking to move into information security (primarily pentesting, bounty hunting, and red teaming). This is by no means comprehensive, and is simply based off my own experiences. It’s also incredibly video heavy, so that’s something I guess.
Everything you do will be based off networking fundamentals and as much as it sucks, the old adage of “You have to walk before you can run” really does apply.