Options

Splunk Power User Certification Exam - Passed

KiyoriKiyori Member Posts: 40 ■■■□□□□□□□

Hi everyone,

Today I followed up on the Splunk Core User certification with the Power User certification, and passed.  I haven’t seen a lot of recent reviews on this exam, but honestly, there’s not really much to say about it – you need to have completed the Core User certification and the Fundamentals 2 course.  Fundamentals 2 is free for veterans through their WorkPlus program:  https://workplus.splunk.com/veterans.

If you have the Fundamentals 2 course, then you have all the materials you need – nothing external required.  All of the questions came from the downloadable student guide, labs, and videos.  I would say that the student guide is way more valuable than the videos.  I studied for about 10 days (give or take a couple for New Year’s and Christmas).  The exam is 1 hour long, is not terribly difficult.

It was exactly like the Core User exam, just with material out of the Fundamentals 2 course.  The questions were very straightforward, but the answers were very tricky – paying attention to small details in syntax, case, constraints for things like calculated fields, etc. pays off.

If you don’t have access to Fundamentals 2, then I would recommend some of the cheaper courses on Udemy and by building in your homelab following Youtube tutorials.  Great supplemental materials there, and definitely a fun time building at home 😊

-kiyori
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    bigdogzbigdogz Member Posts: 881 ■■■■■■■■□□
    thanks!
    I think I will start hitting the Splunk certifications.
  • Options
    roninkaironinkai Member Posts: 307 ■■■■□□□□□□