Tired of being SOC Analyst. What else is out there?

ksmith1983ksmith1983 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just curious if anyone could offer advice.

I've been doing SOC work now for 2 years. And I'm tired of it. I keep hearing there are so many aspects of security but i'm not sure what direction to go in and i'm wondering if there are other aspects/roles of security that i could potentially pivot into based on the core skills that a Junior/Teir 1 SOC Analyst has.

I have two sans certs (GICH and GCIA) and I have been a Tier 1 SOC analyst for 2 years. and I have some experience working in a SKIF as well. I'm not an EXPERT level but i'm a competent analyst.

but SOC work is a tedious job. it feels like you're basically a janitor/housekeeper. i don't have any interest in being a tier 2 or 3 level SOC analyst (lead) because you're then the person whom people blame when things go wrong and your job as a leader is to be a chaperone for the other analysts.

any advice would be appreciated. 

Comments

• mrvl13mrvl13 Member Posts: 46 ■■■□□□□□□□