Options

Masters degree

shreenagshreenag Member Posts: 26 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited January 2020 in IT Jobs / Degrees

Hi All

Needed some advice with my career aspiration to become a CISO

I have 10 years of IT experience in total. 6 of them in GRC. I currently am in a controls testing/assurance role. I have not managed a team but am involved in stakeholder management at a well known Consulting and systems Integration Company.Currently in a client facing role in the UK. The client is a major financial instiutuion.Do not have major security certifications. Worked on the CISSP and got a 670, three years back.

Long story short,I am 32 at the moment and would like to pivot to senior management(CISO) roles in the future. My queries are:

1. Which is better -  MBA in finance or a masters degree in infosec?? to achieve my end goal in next 8-10 yrs
  2. If its an MBA that you suggest(which I think is right), should I get it full time(interested in 1yr programs only) or would part-time also work ?
  3. Or Will I be better off getting a CISSP and then doing a part-time MBA in the future ?

My other concern is I am originally from India and would like to change geographies and settle down in some advanced country like US/UK...So looking at the masters from that perspective too.

Any advice is appreciated

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    edited January 2020
    Are you planning on only being a "cyber" CISO or do you also want to control physical security as a Chief Security Officer (CSO) does?

Do you see many job postings for CISO asking for an MBA or the CISSP or EC-Council CISO certifications?

Have you reviewed the many CISO Forum postings on sites like YouTube?

Do you have the opportunity to work directly for a CISO as an intern or protege?
  • Options
    scascscasc Member Posts: 462 ■■■■■■■□□□
    My personal opinion as follows - of course you don’t have to follow it ;).