Updating Resume: Add Studying Cert(s)?

PantherPanther Member Posts: 118 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm applying for an internal IT support role. My long term goal is cloud, which the company is moving towards. So, that's what I'm currently studying and have an exam scheduled for.

Should I put that on my resume? I want to show that I'm being proactive about my future, though the cert is not directly related for the role.

Comments

• bigdogzbigdogz Member Posts: 881 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You can mention it to an employer or recruiter but do not add it on your resume.
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Unless you are real close to your exam, and you are almost ready, I wont write it on your resume. However, it is a good point to tell while in an interview. 
  • thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    How comfortable are you discussing any of the exam objectives if the interviewer asked you about it during the interview?
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    This is kind of a grey area if you actually have it scheduled, I think if you're confident and have the exam scheduled you can list a future date for that. I've just seen so many resumes that want to list buzzwords for what they are studying for hoping to pass HR filters but really haven't even picked up a book, that I'm a little jaded. 
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    If you put something on your resume, I will ask you about it. If you put "CCSP" or other cloud cert, I ask about a CASB, and you can't tell what that is, you see how this goes downhill quick. If you just started reading through the material you may not know what that is. So long story short, I agree to only include if your studies are VERY advanced. 
  • E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I only list the certifications that I have actually obtained. 
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS