Security+ study path

LunchbocksLunchbocks Member Posts: 319 ■■■■□□□□□□
I have a question and hope some of you can help me. I just started studying for the Security+ certification. I am using Darril Gibson's Securtity+ guide, CBT Nuggets, Mike Meyers Udemy course, and Stormwind Studios. All of these resources seem to be good. My question is this; for those who used multiple resources like this, which resource did you use as the path to guide you through the material in a good way. All of these resources start about the same with C.I.A. but quickly branch off in their own direction. I'm thinking of using the book as the path because it seems to follow a more structured learning path, each chapter building on the prior chapter, but I would love to hear what some of you did that helped you successfully pass the exam on the first try.

When studying for my Network+, it got chaotic about halfway through because all of the different resources were going their own way. I would like to avoid that this go around.

Thanks!
Degree: Liberty University - B.S Computer Science (In Progress)
Current Certs: CCENT | MCTS | Network+
Currently Working On: Security+
2020 Goals: CCNA, CCNP Security, Linux+

Comments

• Cert PoorCert Poor Member Posts: 240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    edited February 2020
    I hate how inactive these forums have become.  Back when I joined, they were poppin'.  I'm currently working on SY0-501.  Here's what I'm using:

[x] Professor Messer YouTube videos at 2x speed.
    [x] CBT Nuggets videos (Keith Barker) at 2.25x speed
    [ ] Darril Gibson study guide (hard copy)
    [ ] Darril Gibson app

I'm getting antsy with how long I've spent so far studying.  The CBT Nuggets videos are 20 hours total, so I hope at double speed it's 10 hours or less.  The Darril Gibson book is 500+ pages, and I'm a slow reader.  The app has a ton of practice questions.