Options

Hello from an older newb

noisenetnoisenet Member Posts: 1 ■■□□□□□□□□
edited February 2020 in Introduce Yourself
Hi! I'm new to the tech world with regard to studying for certs. I recently turned 50 & have been a career musician since the late 1980s. Music doesn't pay like it used to so it's been time to reassess and chart out a new path.

I've always had a more than healthy interest in tech, especially with regard to computers (PCs, Macs) & the operational aspects like configuring OSs, learning what makes things tick. I started on Windows around '97 (actually with WebTV in '96, remember that ol' thing?) then moved to Mac in 2007. As such I've got a good foundational knowledge of those & can sort of futz my way around a few distros of Linux. I have a rudimentary understanding of basic networking but really need to bone up my chops there...

My roadmap (at least for now) is to study then hopefully pass my A+ and ideally get some kind of a job in IT - I'm not expecting to nail down a high paying gig with just this cert but the goal is to start building up experience. - meanwhile study for my Network+ then Security+. I've purchased Mike Meyers' courses for these on Udemy (those Thursday sales the last couple weeks have sure helped make them easier to buy). I also bought the practice tests for these so hopefully they'll be helpful as well.