Options

The Journey Begins - CISSP

ConflagrateCarlConflagrateCarl Member Posts: 13 ■■■□□□□□□□
Well, like most others in this sub-forum, I've decided to take the leap. More out of boredom than anything else, as I don't need the cert for my job and I'm not sure I'll ever need it. As far as experience, I've been working in IT for about 14 years, and doing security for about 8. I have Sec+, CEH, and CASP.

I started studying about a week ago and plan to take the test in about 6-8 weeks. So here's what I got and what I'm going to do:

1.) Sybex 8th Edition CISSP Study Guide
2.) 11th Hour Study Guide
3.) LinkedIn Learning CISSP Prep Course by Mike Chapple
4.) Android Pocket Prep - CISSP
5.) Sybex 2nd Edition CISSP Practice Tests (Just using the book for the wiley access) (1300 QUESTIONS)
6.) Boson ExSim CISSP Practice Exams (I bought the labs too [as a kit], but am most likely not going to use them) (750 QUESTIONS)

To get an idea of where I was starting out, I did some tests:

1.) I've taken 2 tests with Boson (150 questions each), and got a 72% and 73% respectively.
2.) I took 2 tests from the Sybex / Wiley website exam (150 questions each), and got a 78% and an 81%

I feel like the Boson is a lot harder and feels a bit more "conceptual"/"look inside yourself young padawan" based. That said, Boson has TONS of questions about databases and database security in it. The tests I have taken for Sybex/Wiley didn't have nearly as much focus on that. I would say that's one of my weaker areas, and that's definitely contributing the lower scores on the Boson exams. Guess I know what I need to study! :smile: Boson also gives you exam scores by domain, whereas Sybex/Wiley does not. So that's something I really like about Boson.