Sans 660 or Sans 505

bogaboga Member Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
edited March 2020 in GIAC
I want to go for the sans course and i am interested in only windows kind of things .. I know i am asking about 505 that is basically a defensive side of course(based on powershell mainly) and sans 660 that is network exploitation.. But i want your suggestions which one should i take or should i start with sans 503 that is basic network intrusion preventions system . I just want to know about the sans 503 that if i go in it . Will i be more preferable than a CCNA CCNP Cisco professional or is it better than that?? Lots of confusions...Huh
i just want the start and i am currently studying the web exploitation side.

Comments

• E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    edited March 2020
    Seems like you are all over the place without a clear goal. A few questions:

- Do you want to take a course that helps in your current role? And if so, what is that role?
    - Are you preparing for a future role? And if so, what is that role?
    - Can you prioritize the topics that you are interested in?
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If this is your first SANS course, I'd stick with 505. The course levels are 300, 400, 500, 600 and 700, each is level increases in difficulty, they are more than just random course numbers. Having taken a level 600 course, it was considerately more difficult than a level 500 course.   
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    This is like trying to answer what car is right for you. Can't really answer without covering what E Double U mentioned. 
  • LonerVampLonerVamp Member Posts: 518 ■■■■■■■■□□