CompSci PhD

powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,665 ■■■■■■■■□□
Has anyone here completed a PhD in Computer Science?  If so, without having a Computer Science BSc?

My undergrad is in InfoSys and I have a MSc in CyberSecurity Policy.  I have started adjunct teaching and it is pretty interesting.  I don't know that I want to go beyond adjunct, but having the option would be great as a "retirement" sort of position.  In any event, I am also starting to shift towards development work.  I achieved the Microsoft Azure Solutions Architect Expert certification last year and there is only so much value that you can have working with customers doing Governance, Migration, and high-level rearchitecting applications for cloud.  I think I need to get my hands a little more dirty with respect to the code.

With that said, I began my life in IT doing development work, mostly in the web space, starting with HTML/CSS/JavaScript in the mid-90s, then I picked up Java and PHP.  I have dabbled in C/C++ having hacked together some minor mods for Apache and the Linux kernel to do very minimal things, in the early 00s.  I can maintain code in Visual Basic and do "developer grade" PowerShell (full advanced functions incorporating .NET, Pester for unit testing, writing out modules with full documentation, posting the PSGallery, etc.).  So, I am not entirely green with respect to dev work, but none of it has been strictly formal.  I have gone through some OpenCourseware stuff from MIT and tried to get a better understanding of algorithms.

If I were to pursue a PhD in CompSci, or at least want the ability to apply and not be rejected, where should I be?  Should I get beyond my Calculus I and Stats in terms of mathematics?  Do I need a BSc in CompSci?  Would maybe completing an ASc in CompSci along with my other work be enough?