Options

SilentKnightSilentKnight Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello. I am new to these forums, been lurking for a day or so. Very nice site, TONS of useful info.

I am currently studying A+ on my own, while at home and at work. I am using, from CompTia Press, CompTia A+ in Depth, written by Jean Andrews. I understand that this is not the best way to learn but due to time constraints I am currently unable to attend any kind of classes. I am looking at doing some on-line A+ courses thru a local comm college in the very near future. Has anyone had experience with this publication? Also, can anyone advise the best way to study since I am currently being "self-taught"? And are their any areas in which I should concentrate harder?

Unfortunately, I am using 2003 standards (Christmas present). Hopefully, with 2003 standards and lots of internet searching and bugging friends, I will be able to pass new 2006 standards.

Again, great site.

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Keep in mind, you can take the 2003 tests up until July of this year. As for how to study, I'd suggest getting as much hands-on experience with computer hardware and peripherals, as well as doing as much of the software configuration and troubleshooting that you find in your books. With the book, working with a computer or two that you can pick through, as well as notes and questions on sites like this one, you should be able to pass those exams with no problem. Just make sure you're familiar with all the topics outlined on CompTIA's site, for A+, and don't be afraid to ask questions when you're confused or you're stuck on something.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235