CISSP

mawuquomawuquo Member Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,
I have 3 years of experience in supporting ERP project implementation and about 6 years as an Information systems support analyst. I would want to take the CISSP exams, however, and get into security full time. With all this experience, can someone please advise if I have the needed experience to take the exams?

Comments

• SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would suggest you to read all domain and see if if your task and experience can applied. 
  • DZA_DZA_ Member Posts: 467 ■■■■■■■□□□
    As Steven said, I would recommend going through the exam outline to confirm if your experiences line up with any of the criteria. In best cases, you want to have direct experience with the criteria. Be sure to have another ISC2 CISSP holder validate your experience. I don't necessarily see how the ERP implementation holding a lot of weight however you might be able to satisfy some of the check marks with your information systems support analyst. e.g. dealing with user account provisioning / delegating access. 

• SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited March 2020
    As DZA_ said, it could be easier to find CISSP holder to review your experience than to submit a task vs domain resume for ISC2 to audit.  There are domain easier to get experience like Communication and Networking or Security Operation when working on a more standard IT job. 
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    I sounds like you don't have any experience in information security, in which case the CISSP is not for you yet. Have a look at the objectives of the Security+ certification to get an idea if InfoSec is something that you want to do as a career path.
  • mawuquomawuquo Member Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□