Is CCNA overkill for a career in IT security?

uchihadaveuchihadave Member Posts: 16 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

Some background about myself:
I have a Bachelor in Computer Science over 10 years ago. I've been working as  manual software QA tester for couple of years.

Currently, I want to transition into IT security career. (Preferably blue team, defense side of thing. So no pentesting) and wonder which cert I should get?

Should I start with CCNA (The new 200-301 merged CCNA Security in it i believe)? I started studying for CCNA for a few days and seen some topic about configuring routers....It's kinda feel weird to me because it seems too much networking and maybe unnecessary for a career in Security?  Ultimately, I want to get CISSP as long term goal.

Also, another question, would it be easier to find a security job if having:
CCNA, Security+
or 
Security+, CySA+

Please advise,
Thanks

Comments

• yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    edited March 2020
    When I first obtained CCNA routing and switching I did not work in security but logged into Cisco gear daily. The knowledge from the cert was very useful. Now I'm in security and haven't touched Cisco equipment once since the transition. Overkill, no. But probably way less useful/relevant than the knowledge you'd gain putting those study hours towards CySA+. Problem is every HR knows CCNA but not so much with CySA+.

So to answer your question, I think it would be easier to find a job in security (generally) with CCNA and Sec+. But you'd be a stronger candidate with CySA+ and Sec+.

That said, I have almost no interest in pursuing further Cisco certification. Too many other things way more security-related to learn instead.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • uchihadaveuchihadave Member Posts: 16 ■■□□□□□□□□
    edited March 2020
    Yeah, i feel CCNA is pretty network heavy to me. Won't get CCNP for sure...