Options

Cybersecurity Master's vs. OSCP

cyberdc09cyberdc09 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□

Hey, I'm currently deciding between two options and would like some advice. A little background about me first. Like many, I'm trying to break into the Information Security field. I have a degree in Information Systems and I work in technology as a Business Analyst (not security related at all). I also recently completed the CSX Cybersecurity Fundamentals Cert from ISACA to learn about some of the basics and get my feet wet.

I would like to move onto the next step, especially considering I'm going to have some down time these next few months. I have been eyeing the WGU Cybersecurity and Information Assurance Master's program. I know Master's degrees in Cybersecurity have a mixed/negative reputation, but what I like about this program is they offer two certs as classes (CEH and CHFI) and also my company will provide tuition reimbursement cutting the costs significantly.

My other option is going for the OSCP. I know this is a rigorous test, especially for newcomers, but I'm willing to put forward the commitment. From what I've been reading, completing this cert should qualify someone for a Junior PenTest role. A con for me is my company wouldn't provide any reimbursement and I would have to pay completely out of pocket.

Which of these two options do you think would be beneficial for me? Open to hearing other suggestions as well!

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited April 2020
    I would take from another point of view.. look at job opportunity in your area (or area you want to relocate) and see what they are requiring. Sure a Master last longer on your resume than a certification, but certification are faster to get an ROI.  OSCP is not that expensive to get by itself and if you have time it could be a good windows to do it.  However OSCP is targeted toward a pentester role, is it what you want?