Looking to get started in Cyber Security

sdeyoungsdeyoung Member Posts: 109 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all, I'm currently a system administrator but I'm looking to make a shift into the world of Cyber Security. Just looking for suggestions on training & certification. I noticed that the CCNA now includes security. Is it worth getting this to start? Or should I start with CompTIA's Security+? Currently I have a diploma in Network Administration and Security, have my A+, Network+ and MCTS. I was studying to get my MCSA but they recently announced the retirement of this exam hence the shift in something different. I really enjoyed the modules in school we did for the CEH certification. I know this is a pretty broad topic and there are so many different areas to focus on. It can get a little overwhelming. 

Comments

• scascscasc Member Posts: 461 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I would have thought based on your background - Security+, SSCP or even SANS 401. Also depends where your interest lies. If still finding your feet, probably any of the above. If Pen Testing, from CEH you could try ECSA or something from elearnsecurity. 
    AWS, Azure, GCP, ISC2, GIAC, ISACA, TOGAF, SABSA, EC-Council, Comptia...
  • E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    edited March 2020
    If your employer is willing to invest in you I would recommend SANS training. SEC504 was my first vendor agnostic information security training (after years of being a Cisco guy) and is still my favorite course until this very day. I mention that because of your interest in CEH. I feel GCIH overlaps with CEH and as someone that has taken both I can say I prefer the SANS course material over EC-Council. If you are funding your own self-study then Security+ could be a good place to begin.
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • michaelhoangmichaelhoang Member Posts: 8 ■■□□□□□□□□