Options

Steps to land a job

mhoffman20mhoffman20 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have a Bachelors degree in Cybersecurity that I finished last fall. I am trying to make a career change from an auto technician. I also have A+, Network+, and Security+ certs. I have been unable to land a job. There seems to be no such thing as an entry level cyber job (the hope would be a SOC role). There is a skills gap but no desire to train it seems. 

I am asking advice. I am thinking about working towards a CCNA next and possibly trying to land a network engineer/admin role. OR should I work towards a CySA+ and keep trying for the SOC analyst? I do not want to keep pouring money into something where I will not get a job. 

Any thoughts?

Best Answers

• Options
    itdeptitdept Registered Users Posts: 273 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Answer ✓
    "Everyone" wants to get into security. People are probably going to tell you to get a desktop support role for a few years and grind it out. Find a specific area of Cybersecurity and work towards that with experience and certs. Networking is the way to go, jobs are found through your contacts - use them.
    I personally think you will have more "luck" with a CCNA over a CySA+

• Options
    LonerVampLonerVamp Member Posts: 518 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Answer ✓
    Note that CCNA Cyber Ops should not be part of that equation. :)

Security Engineer/Analyst/Geek, Red & Blue Teams
    OSCP, GCFA, GWAPT, CISSP, OSWP, AWS SA-A, AWS Security, Sec+, Linux+, CCNA Cyber Ops, CCSK
    2021 goals: maybe AWAE or SLAE, bunch o' courses and red team labs?

Answers

• Options
    mhoffman20mhoffman20 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank you for your responses and advice. I agree the CCNA CyberOps would not work for me at this time. I think it might be best for me to go after a network related role and hopefully leverage that into a Cybersecurity role later.... I just needed to hear it from someone else!
    thank you!!!
  • Options