Security+ after CISA?

humaizhumaiz Member Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi, I am trying to figure out what I should be doing next in my career.

I am working as a security consultant (1.5 year only) and have IS audit experience for another 1.5 years. CISA was recommended by my organisation and I took it this May, thankfully passed. I am not very good with the security technical as i don't have much experience in configuring stuff, as i had focused more on to governance, risk and compliance areas. So CISA wasn't that tough.

Since i am lacking in security technical, i was thinking of doing the Security+ exam. While going through the domains, i am finding a lot of things very technical and some concepts new.

I read other threads in this forum that says that Security+ is an entry level, once after this to go for CISA, CISM, CISSP etc.

I'd like to know if the Security+ would be good for me or is there any other path i should look into.

Thanks in advance. 

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    I always recommend to people looking to get into technical InfoSec fields to start with the Security+. The Sec+ may have been entry-level material when I passed it back in 2004 but has evolved into a very comprehensive InfoSec cert that is more difficult than a typical entry-level exam should be (IMHO), so don't think it's a "junior" cert that's easy to get.
  • MarioKart64MarioKart64 Registered Users Posts: 15 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I highly recommend the Security+ because it provides a solid foundation in security. That said if you want something that is a more respected then you could get the SSCP. It is at roughly the same level as the Security+ but it is much more respected and helps you to prepare for the CISSP by covering a lot of the same material and helps to familiarize you with how ICS2 words their questions. 
  • balancebalance Member Posts: 244 ■■■■■□□□□□