Protocols and Port numbers

Omega4713Omega4713 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I'm currently studying for the A + certification, and the book I am using listed Protocols and Port numbers but didn't get too deep or detailed. So how much do I need to concentrate on and memorize port numbers for the test?
Tagged:

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    The Transport layer port numbers are associated with application-layer communications protocols and there are a lot of them. Start by learning the numbers of the most popular protocols first (Telnet, FTP, HTTP, HTTPS, SSH, etc.).

The Network layer protocol numbers are used to describe the Transport protocol contained within an IP packet. There are only two important ones--can you guess?
  • yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    There are many things on the A+ that I memorized and forgot many years ago. Definitely not port numbers though. This is something that I always deal with, day after day. Memorizing the top 50 or so port numbers is a very good idea and will stick with you in just about every aspect of a technical IT career in my experience.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • itdeptitdept Registered Users Posts: 273 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Just learn the most common important ones starting at 20. You will need to know them if you want to progress in your studies and there are about 30 to learn for a test like A+. They will come up in other certifications like CCNA, Security+, etc so your efforts are not wasted.
  • Omega4713Omega4713 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Is there a website that has all of them listed or a flash card option to help memorize them?
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin