Cloud Security Engineer

abnmiabnmi Member Posts: 66 ■■■□□□□□□□
What courses/certs do you think would help in becoming a Cloud Security Engineer.

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Cissp, aws, azure,  networking knowledge and domain knowledge from 10 different other areas.
  • abnmiabnmi Member Posts: 66 ■■■□□□□□□□
    what what domains if I can ask. 
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
  • powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,665 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Understand the technologies that you're looking to secure.
    2024 Renew: [ ] AZ-204 [ ] AZ-305 [ ] AZ-400 [ ] AZ-500 [ ] Vault Assoc.
    2024 New: [X] AWS SAP [ ] CKA [ ] Terraform Auth/Ops Pro
  • jayc71jayc71 Member Posts: 112 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I work as a Cloud Security Architect, I currently just maintain several AWS certs and a CISSP.  Will get around to taking the CCSP eventually.  A lot of the job is based on past experience as an engineer, knowing networking, storage, OS's and security tools, plus how to build things in the cloud (granted I focus on AWS, but the high-level concepts are similar with Azure, GCP, etc).  Having a background of working in highly secure environments helps, it makes security issues in less secure (ie private sector) environments really jump out at you.  Understanding the policy side is key as well, it teaches you how to play the game with the security people you run into who do not have a technical background.  
    CISSP, CCSP, CCSK, Sec+, AWS CSA/Developer/Sysops Admin Associate, AWS CSA Pro, AWS Security - Specialty, ITILv3, Scrummaster, MS, BS, AS, my head hurts.
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited May 2020
    Question, from what you have described it seems most of your infrastructure is in AWS? Is your domain infrastructure (DCs, AD, etc) still on-prem or Azure or AWS? If your domain infrastructure is AWS why not Azure? Sorry for all the questions, but I really wanted to pick a cloud security architects brain.

Thanks