I passed GPEN this morning with 95% on the first attempt and this is how I prepared + my index!

manderaitmanderait Member Posts: 4 ■■□□□□□□□□

Hello all!

I'm buzzing from exicitement as I just got back home from the testing center with a 95% PASS in my pocket for the GIAC GPEN exam! I worked hard on this one for the last two months and I gotta say even though COVID-19 helped me a lot with finding time to study I think I still put in a decent amount of my free time.

My background is that I'm working in corporate IT since 2013 coming from a helpdesk position all the way to self-employed network and security enigineer today. I didn't do any pentesting in corporate environments till date. I took this course and exam to get my foot in the doorstep in this field. I considered CEH and Pentest+ before but last year I got introduced to SANS by one of my instructors from Security+. While being in the lucky position to be able to afford a course I decided to give it a go and here we are!

My preperation:

- As mentioned, I took the SEC560 course from SANS which was suppossed to be live in Frankfurt in the first week of April this year. Unfortunately we had to move everything online because of the COVID-19 outbreak. It all worked out pretty well in the end without any disruptions while it was only the second week of "Cybercasts" going on. The instructor was Jeff McJunkin, great guy and even on the exam this morning I answered a question based on what I remember he said. Not everything is in the books folks!

- After the 6-day course I took a one-week break to relax as suggested by Jeff.

- Once the break was over I started to create an index for use during the exam. There are many methods out there who all seem to work fine. I decided to go with the Voltaire tool created by Matthew Toussain since I'm not that of a "coloured-tab-guy" lol