CISSP or SSCP first

test4500test4500 Registered Users Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi am changing tack and trying to get some security qualifications to go with my Cloud certs (AWS SA-A and CD-A).
I have completed Cisco Cyber Ops (210-250 & 255) and have some basic security expertise (Compia Security+) and am a MCP and CIPP/E

Should I take SSCP then CISSP? ...or just do CISSP? ..some considerations:
1) is it a big jump to just do CISSP in 3 months
2) would they certify me easily? (I have degree and 20 years IT experience)
3) Would it help me get a job in Info Sec management?

thanks for any replies
Have: CISSP, SSCP, CYSA+, CCNA CyberOp, CIPP/E, PRINCE, ITIL v3, MS Azure 900/103/500, AWS SA-A, Splunk Core User , CyberArk Trustee......
2020 Goals: CISM/CISA, AWS CDA-P/SA-P/Security, Splunk Power User
Tagged:

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    edited August 2019
    test4500 said:

Should I take SSCP then CISSP? ...or just do CISSP? ..some considerations:

I say go straight for CISSP since since SSCP is more entry level.

1) is it a big jump to just do CISSP in 3 months

It is possible to do it in 3 months but don't limit yourself too much and make sure to fully understand the material or it will get expensive real quick.

2) would they certify me easily? (I have degree and 20 years IT experience)

You need 5yrs of experience in 2/8 domains. You should be fine, but just go over the domains to be sure.

3) Would it help me get a job in Info Sec management?

It will help you get past the hr filters and land an interview. It is up to you to seal the deal. CISSP is highly sought after so it will definitely help.

Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• LonerVampLonerVamp Member Posts: 518 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Personally, the only reason to do the SSCP should be inability to meet the experience requirements of the CISSP. Meeting that, do the CISSP.