Options

Looking for career advice on next move to become a network admin/engineer

ps.89ps.89 Member Posts: 47 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited June 2020 in IT Jobs / Degrees
Hi all,

I'm looking for career advice on what next steps I can take to move my career to the next level. My goal is to become a network admin or engineer. I'm following the usual path from help desk, then to "NOC", but I'm having trouble moving into Networking. I have a Bachelor's degree in Networking and I recently earned my CCNA.

I've been working in my current position for about two years now. I'm part of an Operations Center that has dual responsibilities in Incident Management and Network Operations, but to my dislike, we're more much more focused in Incident Management. For the little Network Ops work that I do, my duties consist of monitoring the environment and responding to alerts by following runbooks, reaching out to carriers for circuit issues, and basic information gathering on network issues before escalating to the network engineers (which sometimes can consist of logging into network devices to run show commands). However, I'm afraid that this experience is not enough to get me a true Networking job, even with my credentials.

Ideally, I'd want to move up into our company's network department, but I'm not sure how to achieve this. I'm pretty close to one of our Network engineers and was shadowing him for a little bit, but it's been put on pause ever since covid-19. I was hoping to train with him and maybe position myself as a candidate for when their department hires, but I haven't seen any new Network engineer postings on our company's internal website.