Options

Passed CSAA & CCP

StrikingInfluencerStrikingInfluencer Member Posts: 38 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited March 2020 in Cloud Certifications
Hello,

Just wanted to say I recently took the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner a few days ago and passed, then today I took the Solutions Architect Associate and passed.  I've been following a lot of advice on this sub and wanted to give my 0.02.

So I have ZERO cloud background.  I'm more Net Sec / SecOps but have always been fascinated with tech and wanting to learn more / broaden my knowledge.  Which is why this cert took me longer than most.  I originally started with the a eKindle AWS Study Guide book and it was absolutely horrible (don't buy it)

I then got access to Linux Academy and finished their courses and their labs.  I didn't feel quite where I needed to be after that so I then went through all of the acloudguru course and labs.  Finally I read a ton of white papers and FAQs.  All in all I think it was incredibly difficult for me because I have literally no professional background in AWS.  For others who are looking at these certs I highly recommend taking the CCP first.  It can be taken online and it was well worth it.  After I took the CCP and passed I got a 50% off voucher for my next exam, and a free practice test that I used to take a CSAA practice test.  Plus I found that there was a lot of material the CCP ACloudGuru courses covered that were not in the AWS CSAA and obtaining that cert boosted my confidence and filled in some gaps I didn't know I had.  Below I'll post what I used to study.  

ACloudGuru - Great value and really good labs (Okay practice tests)
Linux Academy - Okay content but fantastic labs and I loved their cloud playground where I could use their AWS accounts and not worry about my own