Career Change - Cyber Security

Clem25Clem25 Member Posts: 51 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all - I'm currently a project manager for government contractor, but have lately been thinking of making a career change and specializing in Cyber Security ( Incident Response or Pen Testing). Reason for the change, is that I want to be specialized in something and also the security jobs have been on the rise in my area and they are not ever going away. Plus - I like a technical role.

I've been looking at different online colleges that have Cyber Security undergraduate degrees, that are accredited and can be fast tracked. My current undergraduate is from Clemson, and I know that many of my course credits can transfer over and I can focus solely on the Cyber Security courses. My plan would be to try to complete my undergraduate in Cyber Security in 1 - 1.5 yrs and also acquire a couple security certs as well for my resume.

I wanted to reach out to you all to see if you would reccomend any online colleges that I should look at, that won't just give me a Cyber Security degree, but also where I can really gain a wealth of knowledge and hands on experience. I've looked at a few that have peaked my interests, but I've also looked at the SANS Undergraduate Certificate program as well.

Any information would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    It sounds like you really don't know what you want to do. IR and pentesting are two very different fields of cybersecurity. A degree program will teach you nothing practical about either of these fields.

Also, will you be applying for jobs that require a degree? If not, you might do better to start studying the practical aspects of the cybersecurity career you want--when you decide what that is. This will help you get to get a job more quickly than waiting for a diploma that you may not really need.

• Clem25Clem25 Member Posts: 51 ■■■□□□□□□□
    JDMurray said: