Options

Is CompTIA still concerned about braindumps?

walterbyrdwalterbyrd Member Posts: 40 ■■■□□□□□□□
CompTIA certainly used to care about braindumps. They would go crazy about it.

But today, there are websites that give away braindump PDFs for free. These sites have been around for years. Out of curiosity, I did a whois on such a website. To my surprise, the domain information is not even hidden. The full address, and phone number, is given, and it's in the USA. These braindump PDFs are also sold on ebay for $5. Other websites post the QnA online and allow you take a practice exam. If you can remember about 5 exact words, in sequence, from a CompTIA exam you took recently, google it, I'll bet you find the QnA online.

It is my understanding that Sybex practice exam books give exact questions, exact answers, and full explanations to the questions that are on the exam.

I studied hard for my certs. Now CompTIA seems unconcerned with braindumps being distributed everywhere.
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    AverageJoeAverageJoe Member Posts: 316 ■■■■□□□□□□

It is my understanding that Sybex practice exam books give exact questions, exact answers, and full explanations to the questions that are on the exam. 

I think CompTIA does care, and I think that's part of why they've added performance based questions.    

That is NOT my understanding of Sybex books.  I've used Sybex to study for several certs over the years and I have never felt like they mirrored the exams.  In a couple of cases I thought just the opposite, that they didn't provide the right kind of information to get me even in the ballpark.  Others have been much closer.  But never exact.  

What Sybex and others do usually say is that they cover 100% of the exam objectives.  That's not near the same thing as providing actual test questions.  
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,026 Admin