General IT Experience counted as Cyber Experience?

GeekyChickGeekyChick Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
Today I had an interview with HR at a company I was interested in. The topic of years of experience and salary came up. I have 15+ years of IT experience, including helpdesk, network admin, network design/consulting, and cybersecurity. I was surprised the person in HR didn't consider the general IT experience as what she called "cyber" experience. What do you all think? If you are a hiring manager would you consider IT experience specifically applicable to a cybersecurity job (information security job)? In other words if there was a job that asked for 7 years of experience, would it be acceptable for me to include my years of IT in the count?

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yes, especially if it is cyber "adjacent": building secure networks, provisioning user accounts and verifying that the permissions/groups are correct, etc.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • GeekyChickGeekyChick Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hi Stryder! That's what I thought. I'm not sure she understood that IT experience helps to build the foundation for security. If you don't understand the basics of networking, for example, how could you defend it?
  • shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□