Options

Will CISSP improve my chances?

capiocapio Member Posts: 4 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I currently have GCFA Gold , GREM Gold and i am doing my bachelors in computer science. I also have 5 years in infosec. Do you guys think a CISSP will make a difference in my life or should i continue to do some SANS?

Does it matter the certifications that you have or employers only care that you have some certification?

Thanks for your time

Comments

• Options
    That Random GuyThat Random Guy Member Posts: 69 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm in the east coast, so my perspective and feedback will be on my personal experience and from what I've seen here. Also, please keep in mind that I'm not a recruiter of any sort nor do I really have the insight that would leverage a good explanation for why CISSP is worth it.

Personally, I think it depends on what you're trying to do and ultimately where you want to be in spite of these certs. There are definitely jobs I've seen where they've asked for CISSP. How much of a requirement that will be for you ultimately depends on what it is you're trying to move towards. Yourself already having a good number of security certs and seeing as how you already have infosec/cyber experience, you can already kind of leverage what you have to move to a different position. Again, this really depends on what you're trying to move towards.

In my experience, and because of what I've been dealt with and have found, I've had the case be where having the right cert has placed me in a position where the potential employer highlights me. I don't know if this is mainly true for contract work but I've been told verbally by a recruiter that they would only hire me if I could get security+ in a weeks timeline. This was for me, being very fresh to the field and not having any cyber security much less IT experience.

So, I tend to see things as a cynic and think "yeah, they probably just want the cert to meet this requirement, yada yada yada".