From Law to CyberSecurity

GiG88GiG88 Member Posts: 3 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys!
I have a bachelor degree in law, with a specialization about the data breach in the General Data Protection Regulation.

Since the job market in legal profession is completely saturated, o would like to specialize in a cybersec path!

The topics i like more are Incident Hadlling/Response or Digital Forensics, closer to my data breach legal specialization and my  personal interest :)

I requested informations to some schools, but everyone told me that the courses in i.h. ad digital forensics are too difficult for a beginner without any  i.t. background like me.

Do you have some suggestions to shifting my career from law to cybersecurity?

I hope you can help me :)    Thank you soooo much!!!

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    edited August 2020
    I would say dovetail your law experience with cybersecurity to find a new career path. Digital Forensics is all about documenting and presenting digital evidence in a court of law. In DF, it's the legal people that are paid the big $$$$ and the techs in the white lab coats are the ones making $15/hour. Do you have a lot of experience with and in courts of law in the EU? Expert witness experience certainly counts as well.
  • GiG88GiG88 Member Posts: 3 ■■□□□□□□□□
    JDMurray said:
    I would say dovetail your law experience with cybersecurity to find a new career path. Digital Forensics is all about documenting and presenting digital evidence in a court of law. In DF, it's the legal people that are paid the big $$$$ and the techs in the white lab coats are the ones making $15/hour. Do you have a lot of experience with and in courts of law in the EU? Expert witness experience certainly counts as well.
    I don't have much experience; that is why I was thinking about focusing on the incident response domain, which also has compliance implications!
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin