Career change.. sort of

Q8tMadQ8tMad Member Posts: 5 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

So I have been in IT for 19 years, I have never done an IT course or even an exam in the field! - Big believer in RTFM - I started in IT at 14, where by chance a random chap in a coffee house (I skipped school, all the time, and spent it in one coffee house drawing or reading) was having a meltdown because his laptop crapped out on him. By some oddity he allowed me to have a look and I fixed it in a short period. He was impressed, and the next week I was working with his IT manager as an intern. Over the course of 5 years, I was taught server management (windows), and networking, everything was good, but the boss retired and his son took over, he booted the IT department and replaced is with his friends, 6 months later the company went under. During the 6 months, I worked as a web designer (before massive firms started charging $10 per site), it was fun writing html and javascript, but wasn't very fulfilling (if at all). I started applying for 1st line roles, and got the chance to work for an international PR firm, where I was exposed to enterprise server management, software development and basic networking. Worked there for about 1.5 years, then for a reason that escapes me I picked up sticks and went traveling, didn't work in IT, screwed my way around Europe, US and Canada as a bartender with a high tolerance to alcohol and smoking weed.

[Insert 3 years of drinking and drug use]

Returned to IT in 2006.
Everything prior is somewhat of a blur of shattered memories.