Options

Another Desktop Support role with more money or System Engineer role?

stark4stark4 Member Posts: 11 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited September 2020 in IT Jobs / Degrees
I'm currently in a desktop support role (5yrs) making 50k. My goal is to become an entry level system engineer. I'm currently studying for CCNA and my current boss kinda hinted me about possible promotion to system engineer (will be making around 60K) if I received a CCNA certification.

Now the problem is I just got a job offer for another Desktop Support role from well know company for 80K. I'm not sure about promotion opportunities or anything like that there. I'll probably be stuck at desktop support role for a while since I'll be pretty new to the company and it's a big organization. I'll still study for CCNA if I take the job offer. 

My question is should I take the 80k desktop support role offer (still study and pass CCNA) OR stay where I'm at right now, finish CCNA and get a promotion to become a system engineer making 60k at current job. I know system engineer will make a lot more in the future but 80k right now for desktop support role is kinda hard to pass up right now. What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance. 

Edit: The new position is 2 hours away and needs to move. I don't mind moving since I'm single. I'll have to support the new building and I'll be the only IT person there. The Main HQ is about 4 hours away. 

Comments

• Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You covered the salary portion however you didn't state your medium term career goals and what types of problems you enjoy solving. 
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • Options
    itdeptitdept Registered Users Posts: 273 ■■■■■■□□□□