Turning Over A New Leaf

RunningForwardRunningForward Member Posts: 26 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everyone! 😊

I am looking to enter the IT field to make a career for myself.

I have a four-year degree double majoring in both criminal justice and psychology.

I have over a year with “general” IT experience working as essentially basic helpdesk for small businesses and retail stores. Very basic stuff under my belt. Nothing to write home about. My work experience in IT is from about three years ago. I do not know anyone in the industry to help me get my foot through the door but I do have references from my old IT jobs.

I have several years of work experience in retail stores, customer support, customer service, sales, etc. I also have multiple years of experience teaching different grade levels in both elementary school and early middle school plus tutoring mostly math and some English.

I have chosen AWS since it seems to be popular and growing. I have done job searches (Indeed & Dice) within Westchester County New York and there are about two dozen jobs available that require AWS knowledge, although none of them are entry level. I am assuming that there will be more jobs available if I broaden my search south to where the city is, although I would want to keep my commute to under two hours if possible.

I am looking at grabbing two or three certifications within the next six months:
AWS Cloud Practitioner (Foundational) – will grab this one
AWS Solutions Architect (Associate) – will grab this one
COMPTIA Security+ (501) or COMPTIA Security+ (601) – not sure about these yet

I will build a “portfolio” of my work and projects once I start creating assignments that are a part of my self-study.

I plan to take this very seriously.