Hello world

RLdevon_larsonRLdevon_larson Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I’m completely new to OT and looking for ways to grow towards a career in the field. Already a machinist for a large corporation. I have really no idea of where to start. All information is good. Open to suggestions 

Comments

• E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome! What are you interested in? What type of IT teams are within your corporation?
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Maybe look around your facility and ask questions about IT positions you could potentially transition into?  Ask what skills will be required.  A lot of people I know got their break asking how to get into those specific positions.  

Will they let you shadow someone for a half of day?  

• chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited December 2020
    I would also check job requirements for junior help desk positions to see what is being asked by the industry. Once obtaining an idea of what skills and certifications are required, start making a list of goals you need to accomplish.

Also note you may take a paycut from your current career as a machinist. It sucks but "most" of the time starting fresh in the information technology field (at any age) you always have to start at the bottom. Unless you develop some app or are a genius hacker who never worked for an employer. 

Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+
    2023 Cert Goals: SC-100, eCPTX
    chrisone said:
    I would also check job requirements for junior help desk positions to see what is being asked by the industry. Once obtaining an idea of what skills and certifications are required, start making a list of goals you need to accomplish.