Should I even get anymore certs?

N7ValiantN7Valiant Member Posts: 363 ■■■■□□□□□□
Been having a bit of a conundrum with this recently when I was trying to go after the VCP, found out that Stanly's new courses only counts for VCTA, and thus doesn't do jack for the VCP.

I work in government as a Helpdesk Technician, so certain vendor certifications like MCSA, CCNA, and VCP are useful if you need to work with the product in your role.  I want to secure a role as a Systems Administrator so I wanted a "core" set of credentials around Systems (Microsoft and VMware, both used heavily by federal jobs around here).  I'm not very good at deeper level networking which is why I didn't go for the CCNA (also no Sysadmin positions require it for govt so it would be kinda useless in that sense).  There's still a path for me to get the VCP if I grab the CCNA then the VCP-NV, but I'm not so sure it's worth it just because it'll be a much longer path (I'd expect 3 months of diligent study for only the CCNA just because it's a weak subject for me).

I only wanted to grab a cert a year as a relaxed pace since I nabbed the OSCP in 2020.  Linux isn't a big part of the market where I live, so that kinda put a damper on my desire for the RHCSA.  I'm not so sure I'm qualified to be dabbling in Cloud if I'm not even a Sysadmin yet.  Is there anything else I should be looking at, or just bite the bullet and go for the CCNA?

My other motivation for wanting to go directly for the VCP is simply because that's a technology I work with everyday, whereas I don't get to touch Linux boxes or Cisco devices where I am.
OSCP
MCSE: Core Infrastructure
MCSA: Windows Server 2016
CompTIA A+ | Network+ | Security+ CE

Comments

• shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    did you dislike subnetting like I did?  LOL~!! 

I took CCNA twice, missed passing on both <10 pts...I moved on...

Maybe Azure or AWS cloud or security? 

Are you wanting to stay technical or mgmt?

OR