Has anyone gone for their masters later in life?

E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
edited December 2020 in Colleges & Schools
Not sure if it's pandemic boredom or an upcoming mid-life crisis (just hit 40), but I just applied for the Security and Network Engineering masters program at the University of Amsterdam. I completed my bachelors in 2002 and have been working full-time ever since. 

I would like to know how others have juggled marriage, children, and a career while jumping back into higher education. 
Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS

Comments

• SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I can't tell, but I am looking to apply to a masters too.. and my main concern are about time too.. Girlfriend, 12 old daughter, a company to run etc..

I would suggest that you talk to your wife and see what she think of that. If you want to succeed in managing your time, she have to agree on the objective

• shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I guess if you wanted to be a Director of IT/Cyber for pretty much any IT corp/gov't job. I gotta stay technical, I just enjoy it more.  I agree with continue ed, keeps you from catching dementia/alzheimers, right?  Could be a myth...Could definitely help you make more money...I guess the true question is, what do you want to do?  Upper Mgmt/Director or stay technical (if that is currently your fulltime job is)?
    CompTIA A+, Network+, i-Net+, MCP 70-210, CNA v5, Server+, Security+, Cloud+, CySA+, ISC² CC, ISC² SSCP
  • E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    @SteveLavoie - My wife is on board so that is a non-issue. I am just curious to hear how it has been for others.

@JDMurray - Was it hard for your 40 year old brain to focus and retain info? j/k Or was it just balancing all of the non-education obligations?