Options

CIPP/e exam just passed - tips for you

jonandersjonanders Member Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all

Just passed the CIPP/e exam .  As I have got a lot of valuable tips in this foum, i would like to share some with you, if you are preparing for the exam.

I have a master  degree in law many years back (ll.m)   and have worked in different jobs in Scandinavia as a manager and CEO, but not as a lawyer,  but in the past years also in a medium sized company as CEO worked with implementing  GDPR together with our IT professionels and marketing.  I am now in this  company some monthts still in a job as a senior consultant with responsibility for the Privacy area, preparing at  the same time for a new work life as a consultant also in the Privacy area. 

Tips from my preparation:

I took the 2 days course one year ago incl. the participant guide  and the textbook,  but didnt have time to take the exam before Dec. 20 2019. 
I have spent app. 40 hours  preparing. 

I read first all articles in the GDPR. In this context i can recommend the DLA Piper GDPR app. Most useful with reference to recitals and the 95/46 law etc. ( Thank you DLA Piper )
Then I read the textbook and took notes. Finally I read the participant guide from my course.  During the reading I had as non native English speaking  focus on memorizing the English terms and definitions .  NOTE: (the course was helpful, but if you put the same 15 hours in preparation in addition to the 30 - 40 hours recommended  I think you can tackle the exam without the relatively expensive course.But then you have to pay for textbook and exam fee etc. )
Then I switched  to the many test questions in the quizlet app, but only in multiple choice . I made notes of all the areas where I made mistakes, and re read these chapters in the GDPR and in the textbook . In this phase I also made small flow charts etc. on these tricky areas and took more of the quizlet questions.