Options

Should I go for CISSP, or something else?

SHADOWSTRIKE1SHADOWSTRIKE1 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everybody,

This is my first post here, and I'm trying to get some advice on certification/career trajectory.  I currently work as a "Network & Server Administrator" at a company I've been in for the last 5 years after getting hired immediately out of college.  While in college, I worked for two years for an online college as general "IT services" doing basic helpdesk work.  This past year, I decided to dive into certifications to gain some knowledge and fix some Impostor Syndrome.  In October, I passed CCNA.  In January, I passed Security+.  Last month I took AZ-900 for fun because I thought cloud was interesting and wanted to dip my toes and also diversify my resume a bit.  I also took NSE 1 & 2 if you want to count those.  So overall, I have 7 years of IT working experience, a Bachelors in CIT, and a couple certs under my belt.

Recently I've been feeling that I should change career direction towards Security after discussing things with our corporate office's security team.  Long story short, I lead our "Network & Security" team here in my office, but most security work is performed by our corporate office.  I'm like the main point of contact, so I get involved in incident response, and assign patching as needed.  Anyway, a lot of the guys over there suggested that I get more into Security rather than Networking, and they recommend I go for CISSP (almost all of them have it).