Options

Any new details or experiences with CyberOps Pro?

Kjelie_itKjelie_it Member Posts: 5 ■■□□□□□□□□
edited March 2021 in Cisco CyberOps
In fairness, I posted this to reddit already but I noticed quite a few more than helpful discussions being had here on this forum, so please dont take offense if youve seen this question already. I saw no prior discussions yet there for the Pro cert

I understand that the 350-201 CBRCOR & 300-215 CBRFIR are new but im wondering if anyone can say where these certs will stack up when it comes to DoD 8570 Recognition when i can assume will happen at some point.
Also, would CyberOps Pro be considered an intermediate/Journeyman level certification?
Im trying to weigh whether I just take a leap of progression as I have a 4yr Networking degree, Sec+ and Im in a SOC role now, skipping Cysa+/CCNA/CyberOps Asso. which are DoD 8570 and move on to CISSP.

Im wondering also about the overlap of all mentioned certs or will I miss out on something considerable with the jump

I also want to say that over my near 10 years of "professional" IT experience, I have touched networking configs very little. My linux skills only include navigating SNORT to configure rules and the occasional port scanning/listening, iptables stuff

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,026 Admin
    edited March 2021
    You mention "DoD 8570 Recognition for CCNA CyberOps Pro." The latest DoD 8570.01-m manual's cert list was created before there was a CyberOps Professional certification. Also note that this cert list has not been updated with the new Cisco CCNA/CCNP "CyberOps" cert tracks to replace the old Cisco "Cyber Ops" and CCNA/CCNP Security certs that were retired in February 2020. I think it is likely that the 8570.01-m cert list will not be updated until 8140 is finally ratified in 2021. Then you may see some official policy on CyberOps Associate vs Professional.