Carnegie Mellon for Cybersecurity?

axiom1axiom1 Member Posts: 4 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,
I have received an admission offer for Carnegie Mellon’s MS in Information Security Policy and Management program, and I was hoping to gain everyone’s opinion regarding the value of a CMU degree in Cybersecurity. It’s definitely not a cheap program, but I was hoping to use it to “break into” the field. I will also pursue a number of security certifications to bolster the degree. Does this sound like a generally reasonable/prudent plan? 

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Sounds expensive. Do you have any experience? I am a hiring manager and am always cautious about people with lots of education and little hands-on. I always recommend people trying to get into the field to get any experience over education.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,025 Admin
    CMU is hot hot hot for a lot of technical degrees, like Computer Science and Engineering, and has great name recognition. I don't about the ROI for CMU's cybersecurity learning.
  • axiom1axiom1 Member Posts: 4 ■■□□□□□□□□
    So I’m making a career transition from a largely unrelated field. I figured it’s a unique educational opportunity, and the degree may serve me well down the line. It’s a two-year, full-time program. Not online/part-time. It’s definitely not cheap, around $40k per year for tuition and room/board. So $80k total, roughly.  
  • itdeptitdept Registered Users Posts: 273 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Personally I don't think it is worth it. I figure you are better off getting a foot in the door and working towards the security field. I will maintain if you want to protect or attack a system you need to have at least a basic understanding of how the system works. I would be happy to hear from others with an opposing view who have just "jumped in" to Info Sec.
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Go with your gut, sounds like an amazing opportunity.