Certifications vs associates degree?

Connor2kwikConnor2kwik Member Posts: 43 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm coming here to ask as well as give a little update. I managed to land a job at a grocery store as a stocker and while the job is decent I still want something better out of life. I'm debating on whether or not to pursue IT certifications of get an associate degree in IT. I want to know which one has the better investment? 

Comments

• SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would say get both.. start with your associate degree.. and toward the end. do a few certification. This will help you get a head start. 
  • Neil86Neil86 Member Posts: 182 ■■■■□□□□□□
    edited May 2021
    I got my associate degree first (A.S. in Network Admin), then landed my first gig, and then started working on certifications. An associate degree will cover your basic general education courses, as well as whatever program-specific courses are included. I would look at your local colleges and see what programs they offer and what they consist of, you might find one for web development. Also, look outside of your area for online learning. Do some searches for popular schools/training for web development. Reach out to the enrollment departments and ask questions. They usually have professors/staff that work in the fields they teach that you may be able to chat with and get some ideas on a plan.
  • AverageJoeAverageJoe Member Posts: 316 ■■■■□□□□□□