Getting in to contracting

UrbanBobUrbanBob Member Posts: 34 ■■■□□□□□□□
Is anyone familiar with full time contracting? I've always done full time jobs and while people say contracting has more risks, as you are not always guaranteed a job, I see that as more freedom to try new things and take time off between jobs ( why do jobs not offer sabbaticals?). I'm currently a linux admin looking to get more experience with devops or security. I am hoping to network with other contractors or experienced recruiters who is familiar with where the trends are going and can offer some insight.

Any advise is much appreciated

Comments

• scascscasc Member Posts: 461 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I'm a contractor myself - done it for a number of years, could never go back perm. Originally I went into contracting for the money but then realised that flexibility to do the work you want, when you want is paramount to me continuing. You literally have your mandate and get on with it rather than having to do the usual Corporate BS that people do - back stabbing, politics etc. Go for it and you wont look back.

You work when you need to, get on with your work and leave at 5/5.30 etc without eyebrows being raised. Best thing I ever did.
    AWS, Azure, GCP, ISC2, GIAC, ISACA, TOGAF, SABSA, EC-Council, Comptia...
  • UrbanBobUrbanBob Member Posts: 34 ■■■□□□□□□□
    scasc said:
    I'm a contractor myself - done it for a number of years, could never go back perm. Originally I went into contracting for the money but then realised that flexibility to do the work you want, when you want is paramount to me continuing. You literally have your mandate and get on with it rather than having to do the usual Corporate BS that people do - back stabbing, politics etc. Go for it and you wont look back.

You work when you need to, get on with your work and leave at 5/5.30 etc without eyebrows being raised. Best thing I ever did.