Options

GRC Consultant studying AWS. What doors or roles this could open for me in the future?

Lazy_RabbitLazy_Rabbit Member Posts: 4 ■■□□□□□□□□

I am currently a GRC consultant and have an opportunity to pursue AWS certifications through free training provided by a company partnership with a training vendor. I have some downtime, so I figured I'd study for the AWS Solutions Architect Associate and Professional certifications. Plus work pays for any relevant cert I choose to get under $500, since it can look good on proposals.

Besides simply growing my cloud knowledge, I am curious as to what benefits or advantages this certification might bring me. I know having this knowledge (especially in AWS) will be beneficial to my GRC work, but I am interested in how they may be helpful in the long-term and if these certification may open up different avenues in the future, that I should look into (thinking 1-2 yrs out).

For Context: My work as a GRC consultant covers a wide range of things like: risk assessments, business continuity planning, program development, audits, etc. I also have a secondary background in cyber threat intel. I am CISSP and CISA, too if that matters at all.

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    edited July 2021
    Welcome to the forums!

It's an excellent addition to you as a GRC consultant. Almost all projects now are in the cloud so this will help you understand cloud security controls better. You can ask the right questions when you do risk assessments, and you can find gaps in designs.

It will make your job easier as you will have a better understanding of the technology that you assess :)
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• Options
    Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Agree with @UnixGuy