Options

Report Recommendations

egrizzlyegrizzly Member Posts: 533 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hi guys,

So can you all suggest some cyber security reports I can create for our upper management?  This ask is especially for those of you in cyber management, or those of you who have dealt with the management types regularly? 

I now happen to be the only cyber security guy in our organization, a company providing diagnostic services for the healthcare industry.  There are about 5000 endpoints in the security space.

Anyways, I'm a senior engineer. One of my buddy managers in another field told me "...you know upper management they eat reports for breakfast and lunch. If you can get them the right you're good to go".  So here I am ladies and gentlemen.  A million high fives in advance for your comments, suggestions, recommendations, etc.
B.Sc (Info. Systems), CISSP, CCNA, CCNP, Security+

Comments

• Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,229 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you are able to link any of your activities to their strategic objectives then are golden. Whether that is showing your progress to resolving an audit finding (i.e. onboarding applications to a centralized IAM tool) or some operations numbers (i.e. SOC incidents, mitigated DDoS attacks, phishing websites taken down, etc). 

How does mgmt expect this to be delivered? I have worked in Scrum/Agile environments that delivered this information via a PowerPoint presentation at the end of a sprint and environments that created Splunk dashboards for C-suite. Were you asked to deliver a report or is this your initiative? 
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • Options

I was not asked to deliver a specific report @E Double U.  The CTO however made a disturbing remark during our monthly meeting that "None of the executives knows what's going on with security. We don't know where we are"