Is ISACA's 'IT Risk Fundamentals' something I should attempt before CRISC? + free online resources?

dphiri002dphiri002 Member Posts: 3 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, 

So I'm new to the platform, came across it while doing my research on the CRISC exam and the best way to prepare for it through a blog post on InfoSec. 

I am coming from a 2 year stint in a big 4 firm though I was placed mostly in Internal Audit assignments for external clients and found myself on track to start getting ready to study my CIA. However after leaving that environment and reassessing my personal career desires, I would like to attempt the CRISC exam because prior to this work experience, most of my career has been drenched in IT support, DB admin and some programming work (I have a BSc in CompSci). This really doesn't have me feeling like I have the right foundational risk-related knowledge to hop right into CRISC study and ace on first attempt without acquiring ISACA's 'IT Risk Fundamentals Certificate' at least so that I jump into it from there. 

For those that have passed the CRISC exam and/or the IT Risk Certification, would it be something you'd recommend I go through first, before attempting CRISC? (Aside from the fact that it'd also look great on my CV). Funds are really tight right now, and I honestly see myself being able to sit for either Q1-Q2 next year barring study time and available resources, are there any free resources that could help me prep in the mean time as I get the funds together to access official study material as well as process exam registration? 

Answers

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    I'm not familiar with IT Risk cert, and it really depends on your background

Do you feel that CRISC contents are too hard? are you familiar with some of them? 

Having internal audit experience you're already ahead of the game for CRISC. Use the ISACA Q&A DB and see how you go, only you can know if you have enough background for it or not.