I am also a newb! *FURTHER ADVICE ON CERTS*

hayhaypowershayhaypowers Member Posts: 5 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited February 2022 in Certification Preparation
Hello one and all!

Long story short I am a kid who realized she picked the wrong major in college (Turns out biology is really only worth it if you're going into medicine or grad school, which means MORE loans).

I am currently pursing the following certs: Comptia A+, Comptia Network+, and Comptia Security+ - which I have the time to do as a high school substitute teacher.

A few questions: 
  1. What authors/materials have you found helpful?
    I have the Comptia study guides, Professor Messer (a godsend for the frugal), and am pulling from other resources

2. How much time would you reasonably allot for studying per certification?

3. I read that the current version of Network+ is about to expire in March 2022. Would it be worth it to hold out on getting materials until the new study guides tailored for the revisions are out? Or would the previous versions do just fine?
Any further study tips are MOST welcome!

THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME!!!

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Welcome to TechExams.Net!

For your #3 question, there is plenty of free material for the expiring Net+ 007 cert. All of this material is good to study for the new Net+ 008 cert. Just make sure you know what the new topics are on 008. Remember that no single source of study material is completely comprehensive for a CompTIA exam.
  • Info_Sec_WannabeInfo_Sec_Wannabe Member Posts: 428 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The time you need to dedicate studying would vary depending on how comfortable or versed you are in the topics covered. Where you can set aside time consistently, say, 2 hrs per day or more, that would be ideal, but it will still depend on your study habits 

Good luck! 
    X year plan: (20XX) OSCP [ ], CCSP [ ]
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□