Review of SANS MGT551 and GIAC GSOM Certification

JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin

Last year I was given an opportunity by my employer to participate in the SANS MGT551: Building and Leading Security Operations Centers course. I have been a SOC analyst and manager for the past ten years in a Fortune 100 enterprise and MGT551 seemed like a great way to improve myself, my team, and the (cyber)security of my organization. I was right!

MGT551 Acquisition and Getting Started

I took the course with the on-demand option so I wouldn't need to take any time off work and could self-study at my leisure. (Somehow it sounds contradictory to refer to SANS training as a leisure time activity.) I attended on-site SANS training for SEC401 (GSEC) many years ago, and would do it again if it were not for the time and extra expense required for travel/hotel/meals. 

On-demand SANS course material is purchased and accessed via your account at sans.org. Once your order is confirmed and you activate the course, you have immediate access to the full course materials sans the printed materials (pun intended). The MGT551 course books--six spiral-bound manuals--arrived by FedEx 4-5 days after I ordered the course.

An email from SANS sent after course activation includes instructions for downloading the digital materials from your SANS account. The digital downloads are available online for four months after course activation. Once the course expires, you can no longer log in to the course, although some materials of the course remain available.