Just Discovered My Boss Has NO SECURITY OR IT EXPERIENCE !!!

egrizzlyegrizzly Member Posts: 533 ■■■■■□□□□□
edited August 2022 in IT Jobs / Degrees

So I was hired in as a Lead EDR Engineer for a company with 3000+ users.  Pay and everything is good.  However 4 weeks into the job my boss tells me before this job he was a patrol cop for 25 years.  He's had no IT (or tech ) job prior to his current assignment as my boss!!!!

What in the world am I supposed to do about this?  I have 6 years experience in Cybersecurity and 20+ years in IT?  Should I just accept him (kinda like family) while collaborating with other managers outside our team who are actually experienced in the position they've hired for?

What should I do?
B.Sc (Info. Systems), CISSP, CCNA, CCNP, Security+

Comments

• E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Is there something that you are supposed to do? If you discovered your manager lied on his resume and during the interview to get the job then I guess there is some action that you can take. But if this was known to the people that gave him the job over other candidates then apparently they saw that he possessed the leadership skills needed by the organization. 

Is he good at his job - yes/no?
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • egrizzlyegrizzly Member Posts: 533 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Is there something that you are supposed to do? If you discovered your manager lied on his resume and during the interview to get the job then I guess there is some action that you can take. But if this was known to the people that gave him the job over other candidates then apparently they saw that he possessed the leadership skills needed by the organization.