Surprised Myself

aquillaaquilla Member Posts: 148 ■■■□□□□□□□
To get an idea of what the INTRO exam might throw at me when I take the exam (not for a little while yet - i've only just started), I did some practice questions on the Cisco site. I've got some networking knowledge and I did binary / hex / decimal at school so I can recall that - just! Anyway, when the results came up, I was quite surprised. I scored 58 / 86 (which I believe comes out to 67%). If the practice exam is anything to go by, I need to know the OSI, WAN protocols and Cabling (and their distancing).

Seeing that has given me the motivation to move on (especially after being turned down for another job today due to 'lack of experience').
Regards,

CCNA R&S; CCNP R&S

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    That's always a good thing, to see that you're closer than you thought you were. Just keep chuggin' away at that training material, try to get some hands-on experience (or, at the very least, a lot of simulator time), and you'll have that coveted 85%+ score in no time.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
    Have you thought about Security+ first ? Not needed for the CCNA but would be usefull to "complete the set" as it were and will help after the CCNA too.
    Kam.
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    That's exactly what practice tests are for -- they let you know where you stand and give you an idea of topics covered on the exam.

The CompTIA Network+ overlaps a lot with the INTRO portion of the CCNA -- so if you have some Novell, UNIX, Mac, and MS Server experience you might want to sneak in a practice test for that too. :D
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • james_james_ Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□